About this guide -
This guide will provide links and information to help you in finding information you nned to complete your Global Studies project on Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr. and civil disobedience. If you need help finding information, just ask!
Definition of Civil Disobedience according to Dictionary.com
the refusal to obey certain laws or governmental demands for the purpose of influencing legislation or government policy,
characterized by the employment of such nonviolent techniques as boycotting, picketing, and nonpayment of taxes.
Destiny Library Catalog
Destiny is the OPAC ( Online Public Access Catalog ) that allows you to search for books, DVDs, audiobooks, ebooks, and even digital media that the district provides through all 8 of the Wilson libraries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Use this link to search over 100 Encyclopedia & Reference books.
Power Library Links
World Book Online Encyclopedia
The World Book Online Encyclopedia is available with no login when your computer or mobile device is on school property. For home access, please ask Mrs. Allbee for the username and password or click on the password link on the LibGuide Homepage.
This searchable database is useful for quick access to accurate, reliable information. A full MLA citation for each article is at the bottom of each web page.
POWER Library - SO
Reminder - To access POWER Library from your home computer you will need to enter your PUBLIC library card number OR enter this ecard #: 24752000203602
Martin Luther King Jr. Links
- Martin Luther King Jr. BiographyBiography from Biography.com
- Martin Luther King Jr. Biography #2Biographical Information from the History Channel
- Martin Luther King Jr. #3Biographical Information from National Geographic Kids
- The King CenterOrganization established by Mrs. Coretta Scott King for Nonviolent Social Change.
- National History Site - MLK Birth PlaceMLK Jr. Birth Place National Park with historical information
- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education InstituteA collection of primary and secondary documents pertaining to MLK, Jr., held at Stanford University
Library Books on Martin Luther King, Jr.
M. L. K. by ISBN: 9780810954762Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Martin Luther King, Jr. by ISBN: 1410305066Publication Date: 2005-04-01
I've Seen the Promised Land by ISBN: 0060277033Publication Date: 2003-12-23
Martin Luther King, Jr. by ISBN: 0737702265Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Martin Luther King, Jr by ISBN: 1597160776Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Martin Luther King Jr. : Let Freedom Ring by ISBN: 9789380028699Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Martin Luther King, Jr. by ISBN: 0894343424Publication Date: 2000-01-01Ferguson's Career Biographies tell the stories of some of the world's most influential and admired people. This book focuses on Martin Luther King Jr, looking at his early education and training, the challenges he faced on the job, important mentors and his career achievement.
Martin's Big Words by ISBN: 9781423106357Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Other Library Books on Civil Disobedience
After Gandhi by ISBN: 9781580891295Publication Date: 2009-02-01
We Are Power by ISBN: 9781683358459Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Gandhi Links
- Gandhi - Biography.comThe Biography Channel tells the story of Gandhi.
- Gandhi Institute for NonviolenceInstitute for nonviolence – great information
- Gandhi Research FoundationA place to learn about Gandhi, his life, work & philosophy.
- Gandhi Serve FoundationMahatma Gandhi's photographs, films, audio and video clips, and other media and information for research and education on peace and nonviolence ...
- Gandhi Primary SourcesThis site tells about Gandhi's life of nonviolence, provides primary documents, and compares his struggle to MLK.
- Little Known Gandhi Facts6 facts about Gandhi you may not know.
- Gandhi VideoThis is Mahatma Gandhi's first television interview. On 30 April 1931 Gandhi gave this interview to Fox Movietone News and also met the peasants of Bardoli. This precious clipping is from the archives of Fox News Movietone.
- Voice of GandhiThe voice of Mahatma Gandhi reading his spiritual message in 1931.
- Assassination of GandhiEyewitness to History article about the death of Gandhi.
Library Books on Gandhi
Gandhi by ISBN: 9781592700943Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Mohandas Gandhi by ISBN: 9781422228524Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Gandhi and the Quit India Movement by ISBN: 9781432976354Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Darkness Everywhere by ISBN: 9780761354833Publication Date: 2013-08-01
DK Eyewitness Books: Gandhi by ISBN: 9781465426987Publication Date: 2014-08-18
Gandhi: My Life Is My Message by ISBN: 9789380741222Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Who Was Gandhi? by ISBN: 9780448482354Publication Date: 2014-11-13
