Is it PLAGIARISM? Infographic Flow-Chart
Paraphrase It - Read, Think, Paraphrase
Credit: Number Two Pencils, 2017
How to Paraphrase
Credit: A Thyme to Read, 2017
What's the difference between paraphrasing and summarizing?
Credit: Minds-in-Bloom.com by Rachel Lynette - 2012
Is it PLAGIARISM? Infographic Flow-Chart
Bibliography Graphic Organizer
WHY and WHEN do we cite our sources?
Taking Notes and Paraphrasing
Terrified of taking notes? In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby introduce you to the skill of paraphrasing. You’ll learn how paraphrases are different from direct quotes, and two reasons why you might need to paraphrase a text. Find out the four steps to writing a good paraphrase, and how you can make sure you avoid plagiarism. You’ll also learn what plagiarism is and how to keep from doing it. Plus, you’ll discover two characteristics of an effective paraphrase. So, go ahead--say it in your own words!
What is Plagiarism?
You know that stealing someone else’s property is wrong, but what about stealing words or ideas? In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby introduce you to the thorny concept of plagiarism. You’ll learn about the most basic forms of plagiarism, like copying and pasting someone else’s words directly into your own work. But you’ll also learn why many students wind up plagiarizing without meaning to! You’ll discover why plagiarism is taken so seriously by teachers and professors, and hear some tips you can use to avoid it. Finally, you’ll learn the basics of citing sources and paraphrasing other authors.
How do I cite my sources?
Where’d you get that from? In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby will teach you how to finish reports and papers by citing your sources! You’ll learn what a bibliography is, where it comes in your report, and how to get started writing it. Find out how to cite four different kinds of sources and see what to do when the sources get complicated - like when a book is written by more than one author. You’ll also learn about some of the more unusual sources you might encounter. You'll also learn how to cite a BrainPOP movie! Don’t forget to give credit where credit is due!
How do I make a bibliography?
Online Tools
Wilson School District subscribes to World Book Databases for students and staff.
World Book Student version offers a wonderful online tool to create citations. If you are on campus, you don't need to log in. If you are at home, see your library media specialist for a username and password.
CITATION BUILDER from World Book Online
BibMe™ The fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills. It’s the easiest way to generate citations to build a works cited page. And it’s free.
Citation Machine: FREE and Easy
EASY BIB: Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography. Save hours by making a Works Cited page automatically!
Oslis Citation Maker - Citations, databases and more. Geared to grade level. Choose APA or MLA.
Otto Bib: Make a bibliography or works cited with just an ISBN. It's free, easy and FAST.