LibGuides: Wilson West Middle School Library: 7th Grade Research

Research How-to

Research the Wilson Bulldog way…

The Libguides page is “one stop shopping”, the “Super Walmart” of research.

It has everything!

With Libguides you will find…

Destiny Discover

Click on the Destiny Discover link and type in your keyword. Keep the keyword search simple. Destiny Discover will inform you of what materials we have in the library on your topic. If no titles can be found (for example the search for English Springer Spaniel yields no results) modify your search and try again (for example Spaniel or simply dog). When you find a title that looks helpful or interesting remember the Index in the back of the book is like a Google search! MackinVia eBooks are included in this search.

World Book Encyclopedia

This searchable database is useful for quick access to accurate, reliable information on ANY topic. A full MLA citation for each article is at the bottom of each web page!!!!

To use this resource at home the user name is wilson1, the password is bulldogs.

ProCon.org

Britannica Acquires Leading Non-Partisan Issue-Information Source ProCon.org

ProCon.org presents balanced, expert-authored arguments for and against each side of controversial issues
It’s a valuable, popular site for teachers and students around the world
ProCon.org’s commitment to balance and accuracy strengthens Britannica’s ability to elevate better information in the digital universe
ProCon.org’s content will remain free

Power Library

E-resources include a variety of resources from magazines to reference books.

Reference: Contains more than 128 reference titles from Gale, UXL, Lucent, and Primary Source Media for reference articles, topic overviews, critical essays, and plot summaries
Magazines: More than 1,240 full-text periodicals providing more than 2 million articles
News: Over 1.5 million news results from sources such as KidsPost, Cross Currents, USA Today, CNN Wire, and more
Multimedia: Over 150,000 images; nearly 12,800 videos, and more than 165,200 audio clips from a variety of sources including the History Channel/A&E, AP Video News, NASA, UPI Photo Collection, and NPR programs.
Biographies: 51,300+ biographies from UXL Biographies, Newsmakers, Scientists: Their Lives & Works, Discovering Biography, Encyclopedia of World Biography, and more.
Primary Sources: 3,200+ core primary documents, including government documents, court testimony, letters, legislation, memoirs, and more.

To access this resource at home you must have a public library card or an eCard. Instructions on how to apply for a free eCard are found on the Power Library Home Page.

NEW!!! WILSON STUDENTS WILL BE ABLE TO ACCESS POWER LIBRARY WITH SINGLE SIGN-ON REMOTE ACCESS VIA WILSON GOOGLE ACCOUNT ACCESS!

CultureGrams

Culturegrams is concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories.

To access this database the user name is wilsonwms and the password is bulldog.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

This e-resource is a database of reference books. These reference books are designed for higher level research. This database is a great resource for animals (Grzimek is best for this research topic), science, law, and medical research. No user name and password needed when researching in the school. At home,

West Middle School

Direct Link

pl9208