Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide -
This guide will provide links and information to help you gather information about the topics ( water pollution, acid rain, road salt run off, etc.) you need to research for your Science Assignment. If you need help finding information, just ask !
Environmental Awareness by
Publication Date: 1991-09-01
Waste and Recycling Challenges by
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Threats to Our Water Supply by
Publication Date: 2009-08-15
Water World by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Do You Know Where Your Water Has Been? by
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
What Can We Do about Acid Rain? by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Offers a simple explanation of the environmental issue of acid rain, the harm it causes plants and animals, and explores some possible and proven ways to address the problems it causes.
Water Pollution by
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Water Pollution by
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Explores the issue of water pollution and its environmental effects.
Encyclopedia of Pollution by
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Encyclopedia of Pollution is a new, two-volume color set designed to address all aspects of pollution and the global impact on the environment in a single source. Containing more than 300 entries and essays interspersed throughout, it uses the most current scientific data to explain the different types of pollutants including properties, production, uses, environmental release and fate, adverse health response to exposure, and environmental regulations on human exposure. It provides the scientific background on the water, soil, and air of environments where the pollutants are released. Coverage also includes pollution regulation, the function of federal regulatory agencies and environmental advocacy groups, and the technology and methods to reduce pollution and to remediate existing pollution problems.
Destiny Library Catalog
Destiny is the OPAC ( Online Public Access Catalog ) that allows you to search for books, DVDs, audiobooks, ebooks, and even digital media that the district provides through all 8 of the Wilson libraries.
Your school may use the more colorful home screen called Destiny Quest by default, but you can "Exit Quest" (top right corner) if you prefer. Exiting Destiny Quest also allows you to access more features and search options.
Road Salt Runoff Pollution Research Article Links
Fertilizer Run Off Pollution Research Article Links
Harmful Algal Blooms
An article from the United States Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Impacts of Lawn Fertilizer
Article from the University of Vermont detailing environmental impacts of lawn fertilizer.
Dead zones are low-oxygen, or hypoxic, areas in the world’s oceans and lakes. Because most organisms need oxygen to live, few organisms can survive in hypoxic conditions. That is why these areas are called dead zones.
The Effects: Dead Zones and Harmful Algal Blooms
An article from United States Environmental Protection Agency about dead zones and algal blooms.
Urban and Suburban Pollution
A great site for research…this is an article on types of pollution.
Agricultural Run Off
AGRICULTURAL RUNOFF from Protecting Water Quality
Manure and what it does
Articles from Scientific American
Pollution run off in Wisconsin Lakes
Polluted runoff is Wisconsin's number one water quality problem, degrading or threatening an estimated 90% of inland lakes. Extra phosphorus can wash into our lakes and streams from lawns, farm fields, stormwater and construction sites, roads and other hard surfaces, causing algae blooms, water quality decline, and negative impacts on recreational lake use and lakeshore property values.
Run off and fertilizer use
Many people routinely use fertilizer for crops, gardens, and lawns. What people don't know is that each time they apply fertilizer, the fertilizer seeps through the soil into the water table. This can eventually lead to the contamination of a local water source, like a stream, pond, lake, bay, or ocean.
Acid Rain Pollution Research Article Links
A National Geographic article that details the consequences of acid rain.
So Far, Things Going Swimmingly for Trout in N.Y. Lake
An article from the LA Times detailing how an Adirondack nature site is taking small but significant steps toward recovery.
Effects of Acid Rain
An article from the United States Environmental Protection Agency detailing the effects of acid rain.
Discover Magazine - Acid Rain
Takes you to some great articles from Discover Magazine that tell about acid rain.
Learning about Acid Rain
This revised guide is designed to help students better understand the science, cause and effect, and regulatory and citizen action that are part of understanding and addressing acid rain.
World Book Online Encyclopedia
The World Book Online Encyclopedia is available with no login when your computer or mobile device is on school property. For home access, please ask Mrs. Allbee for the username and password or click on the password link on the LibGuide Homepage.
This searchable database is useful for quick access to accurate, reliable information. A full MLA citation for each article is at the bottom of each web page.
**The username & password for World Book is found on the homepage in the Passwords Box
POWER Library - SO
Reminder - To access POWER Library from your home computer you will need to enter your PUBLIC library card number OR enter this ecard #: 24752000203602.
EPA for Students
EPA for Kids
This is the student page of the Enviornmental Protection Agency.