Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wilson Southern Middle School Library: Home

Announcements

 Need something to do?

StickTogether Products, LLC

Click on the Stick Together picture above to do a school-wide sticker puzzle.

 

 Next Visit from Darcy:  To Be Determined

MackinVia

Image result for mackinvia image

Read or listen to ALL of our library's ebooks with MackinVia. 
Use your school Google Apps username and password to log in if requested.

Reading Eagle Newspaper

Reading Eagle Newspaper

Bitmoji Image

To get to the e-edition, use the HOME dropdown menu and choose e-edition.

Southern Times Newspaper

Click HERE for the current edition.

WSM on Instagram

Suggestions

Have a suggestions for the library?  

Submit it HERE!

Books in a Series

NextWant to find out what is the next book in the series ?   Don't know the first book in the series and want to be sure to read the books in order ?  Click here to find a great site to help you find "what's next" !

Biography

SweetSearch.com

A great place to search for many topics.   Results have been validated by educators and some sites provide an MLA citation.
 
*Make sure to scroll past the Ads in the results

Useful links for your research !

 

 A great place to explore BOTH sides of many current issues !

procon

 

WHY use Southern Library ???

  • Books!  Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Story Collection, New Books.
  • DVD collection!
  • Personalized research help for you.
  • Computers and printers available for your use.
  • Nooks you may borrow containing many of the Reading Olympic titles.
  • Online resources for your school or personal use.
  • Magazines and newspapers to keep you informed and up to date.
  • The library is a friendly place to read, relax, study, and enjoy!

Infotopia

InfotopiaA Google alternative safe search engine for students offering information and reference sites: art, social sciences,social issues,social problems, history, ...

Power Library Links

POWER Search

InfoTrac Newsstand

 GREENR (Environment, Energy, etc.)

Science Reference Center

Research in Context

BookFLIX

Contemporary Authors

Business Insights: Essentials

Books, movies and more in a PA library (Access PA Catalog)

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Books & Authors

Kids InfoBits

InfoTrac Student Edition

MackinVIA

MackinVIA

Read or listen to ALL of our library's ebooks with MackinVia. 
Use your school Google Apps username and password to log in if requested.

DESTINY

To Search for books and to see your Library Account, click on the icon or the link.

Destiny Discover allows you to search for books, DVDs, audiobooks, ebooks, and even digital media that the district provides through all 8 of the Wilson libraries

Destiny Library Catalog

POWER Library - SO

Reminder - To access POWER Library from your home computer you will need to enter your PUBLIC library card number OR enter this ecard #:  24752000203602. 

POWER-Teens

kids

 

Destiny- Search the Library Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

World Book Online Encyclopedia

The World Book Online Encyclopedia is available with no login when your computer or mobile device is on school property.  For home access, please ask Mrs. Allbee for the username and password or click on the password link on the LibGuide Homepage. 

This searchable database is useful for quick access to accurate, reliable information. A full MLA citation for each article is at the bottom of each web page.

Culturegrams

Culturegrams

concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories

Passwords are available on the LibGuide HomePage, in the library or from Mrs. Allbee.

 

 

Renew & reserve on your own !

 

You may renew or reserve a book you borrowed from SOUTHERN Library on Destiny, but only if the book or material is from SOUTHERN Library.  For all other renewals, please email Mrs. Allbee at alljen@share.wilsonsd.org

Free Graphics/Picutres/Music

Camera

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 Use this link to search over 100 Encyclopedia & Reference books.

 

 

 

60 Second Reviews

 

READ

60 Second Book Reviews !

PUBLIC Libraries - Visit online and in person!

Bridges Career Center

Bridges

 

Bridges Career Center - Lots of great information about all careers, as well as interest quizzes and guidance to the right career for YOU.   You need a log in and password to use - found in the Password Document on the LibGuides Home page.

Pick A Book, MASH style

Click on the above picture.  Make a copy in your drive.  Fill in the categories, then pick a number between 5 & 9.  Start counting on the names, when you hit that number, cross out the word.  Keep counting and crossing out words until only one word in each category is left.  Use these to search for books in Destiny!

First Chapter Friday

CLICK on the book to hear the reading of the first chapter of this book.

 

How do I use...

CIA World Factbook

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Book Tasting!

Here is a template for Book Tasting - just make a copy and start to discover wonderful titles you will want to read.  Enjoy!

Tweets from the Library