Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Green Valley Elementary School Library: Research Tools

The Online Home of Your GV Library

Research Tools

What is RESEARCH?

Watch this BrainPop video to learn how to do research.

Visit the "Citing Your Sources/Bibliography" page to learn about plagiarism, paraphrasing, and citations.

Watch this video to learn about keyword searching on the internet.

POWER Library - GV

 

POWER Library icon

If you are at school, this link will take you directly to Power Kids from Power Library.

If you are at home, use your public library card barcode number or this eCard number to login.

24752000476885

 

Gale In Context - Elementary

POWER LIBRARY - Gale in Context

Database of Nonfiction Information - K-5

Pebble Go (K-2)

Pebble Go Next (Gr.3-5)

*PebbleGO Next is now linked to PebbleGo!

When you click the icon above, you will go to the PebbleGO homepage.  Then, click on the PURPLE PebbleGo Next Tab.

DK Find Out! Picture Encyclopedia

DK Find Out!
Image from DK Find Out! website

DK Find Out! is a free online encyclopedia with interactive pictures.  Though it does not have as much information as World Book Online, it's a great place to quickly look up answers to common questions.

NewsELA Elementary

NewsELA Elementary has current events and news for students, and you can change the reading level to help you understand it.

NewsELA logo
Image from PRWeb.com

Fact Monster

Dictionary

Dictionary.com is a reference resource to look up the definition of a word.

Thesaurus

Thesaurus.com is a reference resource to look up synonyms and antonyms of a word.

Discovery Grade 5 - Changing The World

Research Links

Poverty

Conservation

Pollution

 

World Book Online Encyclopedia

World Book Online Encyclopedia

The World Book Online Encyclopedia is available with no login when your computer or mobile device is on school property. For home access, please ask your teacher-librarian for the username and password, or refer to Library Password links on this page.

This searchable database is useful for quick access to accurate, reliable information.

World Book Web

True Flix - Grades 3-5

 

Image result for trueflix

 

If you are at school, no password is needed.
If you are at home, you will need your public library card barcode number OR use this ecard number:
24752000476885

Still having trouble loading TrueFlix?

Go to the Power Kids homepage by clicking the icon below. 

Then, click on TrueFlix.

Destiny Library Catalog - Green Valley

Destiny Library Catalog

Destiny Discover allows you to search for books, DVDs, audiobooks, ebooks, and even digital media that the district provides through all 8 of the Wilson libraries.

  
 

Photos and Clip Art for Projects

Find "Free to Use" photos for your projects. 

This site adds citations to each photo automatically.

Find "Free to Use" Clipart for your projects!

National Geographic for Kids

Ducksters

Searchable Information for Students - History, Biographies, Science, Geography, Math, and more!

America's Story from Library of Congress

QUICK TOOLS - Safe Search Engines

 

 

 

Citation/Bibliography Builders

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Lisa Goehler
Contact:
Green Valley Elementary School

Wilson Library Passwords - GV

Library Passwords

Image from Pixabay

Forgot a Password?

 Click the image above to see the list of usernames/passwords for the GV Library Resources.  

In order to view the document, a student will need to sign in with their school username/password.

Print a copy to keep near your computer at home.

Green Valley Library Resource Username/Password List - for Students

Wilson Library Resources Handout for Teachers