Skip to main content

Wilson Southern Middle School Library: 8th Grade English ~ Court Cases

About this guide -

This guide will provide links and information to help you research the following issues:

Freedom of Speech at School

Corporal Punishment in School

Privacy Rights at School

Juveniles & Serious Crimes

Student Athletes & Drug Testing

Student Clubs at School

Affirmative Action in College

If you need help finding information, just ask!

 

Citation Information

Most websites and articles will give you the citation to use ~ but you need to search for it!

Usually it is down the lefthand or righthand side of the page or at the very bottom of the page.

Look for the word CITE

Use the MLA 8 version

Don't see it?  No problem!  Use the Easy Bib EDU site to help create your Citation.

 

Destiny Quest Library Catalog

Destiny Library Catalog

Destiny Quest allows you to search for books, DVDs, audiobooks, ebooks, and even digital media that the district provides through all 8 of the Wilson libraries.

Places to Search

 

procon

  A great place to explore BOTH sides of the issue!

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer is a general reference e-resource for elementary and middle school students, researchers, and educators. All content is full text and includes over 2,200 high-quality newspapers, magazines, and reference materials.

Middle School Student Research

Discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health, and sports.

EBSCO

            Click EbscoHost Web

           Check the boxes for the databases you want to search:

           Possible choices are

                              Newspaper Source Plus

                               This e-resource provides the latest news with full text of over 1,200 U.S. and international newspapers and 1.4 million television and radio                                 transcripts 

                                       You can limit your search down to lefthand side

                                       by date, US newspapers, etc.

                              Middle Search Main Edition

                        Designed for middle school students, this e-resource provides full text to popular magazines, thousands of biographies and                         historical essays. 

SweetSearch.com

Sweet

Great place to search for many topics.   Results have been validated by educators and some sites provide an MLA citation.
*Make sure to scroll past the Ads in the results

Recommended Books Available in the Library